Club Championship Final Results

Sheila cuthbertson won the ladies club championship for the 20th time

Sheila cuthbertson won the ladies club championship for the 20th time

Win Number 20 for Champion Cuthbertson

Attention all you ladies out there who think golf is only for the younger generation. Both the Ladies Championship and the Laverock Cup (Bronze Division Championship) were won by septuagenarians!

Fairways veteran Sheila Cuthbertson overcame the challenge of Denise Richards, playing in her first final, by a margin of 5&4, to lift her 20th title. In the semi-finals, Sheila defeated Patricia Wood 5&3 and Denise overcame June-Anne Clark's challenge by two holes.

A truly inspirational Lilian Smith defeated Julie Oram, a second-time finalist, 5&3, to win the Laverock Cup for the first time. Lilian was diagnosed with cancer in 2015 and only completed her treatment in February last year. In the semi-finals, Lilian beat Iris French and Julie defeated Katie Brackenridge. Congratulations to both ladies.

Morris Makes it Nine



Jamie Morris etched his name on the Club Championship board for a ninth time on Saturday evening as he moved closer to TT Sanderson's record of 15 wins.

Morris, who won his first Club Championship twenty years ago, swept aside Colin Fraser in Saturday morning’s semi-final to set up a mouth-watering clash against former Scotland international Allan Turnbull, who defeated defending champion Steven Waldie in the other last four tie.

The final was a high quality match although neither player was able to get the putter working to great effect, with Morris edging clear early on before a Turnbull eagle levelled the match at the ninth. Morris got his nose in front after the turn and never relinquished his lead, holing a tricky putt down the hill at the 17th for a half, before a half in pars on the final green sealed victory with a one-hole advantage.

In the B Championship Final, Ryan Forsyth came from behind to beat Jamie Fenton 3&1, recovering from a three-hole deficit after six holes. Forsyth battled back with birdies on 8 and 9 to level the match. Fenton edged ahead with a conceded birdie at the 10th, but the turning point proved to be a Fenton three-putt at the 13th which levelled things again, as Forsyth pulled clear with wins at 14 and 15. He had a chance to win the match on the 16th but the putt slipped by, before producing a stunning sand save par to clinch it on the 17th.



The C Championship proved a more one-sided affair as Keith McDonald overcame Allan Davidson in the final to secure his first title. Fearghas Lowther fought back to beat Fraser Imlah by two holes in an excellent Junior Championship Final, with both players producing excellent golf throughout the round. Imlah raced to an early lead, but Lowther finished strongly with pars at the closing five holes.

2017 Club Championship Finals | Results

Men's A: Jamie Morris beat Allan Turnbull

Semi-Finals: J Morris beat C Fraser; A Turnbull beat S Waldie

Ladies A: Sheila Cuthbertson beat Denise Richards

Semi-Finals: S. Cuthbertson beat P Wood; D Richards beat J Clark

Junior: Fearghas Lowther beat Fraser Imlah

Men's B: Ryan Forsyth beat Jamie Fenton

Ladies B: Lilian Smith beat Julie Oram

Men's C: Keith McDonald beat Allan Davidson

Congratulations to all our champions!


> To view all the photographs from Saturday's finals day, visit the Peebles GC facebook page