Magic Morris Fires a 63 to Win Peebles Open

Peebles Open Champion Jamie Morris

Peebles Open Champion Jamie Morris

Magical Morris Storms to Championship and Open Double

It was a weekend to remember for local golfing star Jamie Morris as he made it nine Club Championship wins on Saturday followed by a remarkable win number ten on Sunday in the Peebles Open.

Having celebrated Championship win number nine, he turned his attention to the Peebles Open on Sunday, with the event enjoying a packed field of 187 golfers from across the country. Despite starting with a double-bogey five, Jamie reached the turn in 33, thanks to a spectacular eagle two at the fourth, and finished with three consecutive birdies to romp home in just 30, for a superb 7-under par 63. It was his lowest ever round at Peebles, two shots outside Darren Howie’s course record set last year, matching the previous record held jointly by Colin Fraser and Norrie Forsyth.

Meanwhile, Eric Mapp and Jim Edgar junior took the glory in the Second Class section of the Peebles Open on Sunday. Mapp produced an fine nett 65 (19) to win the handicap section by three shots from Alan Sinclair, while Edgar’s score of 78 gave him the scratch prize, beating B Championship semi-finalist Keith McIntosh on the better inward half.

A great turnout for the club’s biggest event of the season with great feedback from members and visitors on the condition of the course. A huge thanks to Stevie Borthwick and his greenkeeping staff, as well as Competitions Convenor Mary McIntyre and her team of volunteers, who worked tirelessly throughout the day from 7.30am through to 9.30pm!

A Division - Scratch

1. J Morris (Peebles): 63

2. C Fraser (Peebles): 69

3. S Fairbairn (Torwoodlee): 70

4. J Berry (Torwoodlee) 71

B Division - Scratch

1. J Edgar (Peebles) 78 (BIH)

2. K McIntosh (Peebles) 78

3. D Gray 79 (BIH)

4. D Brotherstone (Peebles) 79

A Division - Nett

1. G Henderson (Glencorse) 68 (BIH)

2. G Porteous (Kilspindie) 68

3. G Lowther (Peebles) 69 (BIH)

4. C Young (Peebles) 69

B Division - Nett

1. E Mapp (Peebles) 65

2. Allan Sinclair (Peebles) 68 (BIH)

3. C Ronaldi (Glencorse) 68

4. M Livingstone 68

CSS: Members: 70, Visitors: 71